Vermont House passes government transparency bill

first_imgThe Vermont House of Representatives has passed H.73, a bill increases transparency and accountability in state government.  The legislation will provide for greater access to public records and allow for better enforcement of the Vermont Public Records Act (PRA). The public records law as it currently stands is very complex and full of exemptions, making  enforcement inconsistent across agencies.  H. 73 seeks to make access to public records more readily available and the process understandable. The bill also sets up a process to review the necessity of current exemptions. ‘The current public records act is confusing for both individuals requesting access to records and those agencies providing the records,’ said Speaker Shap Smith.  ‘By clarifying current law, state government  will be more responsive to its citizens’with transparency, efficiency and accountability.’ Designed to address the current shortfalls of the PRA, H.73 contains the following provisions: ·        Creates public records training for all public agencies;·        Establishes a resource at the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration to provide guidance and advice to municipalities for complying with the PRA;·        Clarifies the agencies’ responsibilities to respond to a records request;·        Forms a study committee to evaluate and recommend changes to the 215 exemptions of the PRA. The bill advanced in the House to third reading yesterday, 134-5.  The bill passed this afternoon on a strong voice vote.  It has been sent to the Senate for its consideration.Source: Speaker’s office. 5.7.2011last_img read more

Carter, VanDerWal, Griffiths lead points at Great American Stock Car Shootout

first_imgBy Jeremy FoxOSKALOOSA, Iowa (July 1) – Cayden Carter (IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars), Curtis VanDerWal (Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods) and Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks) were the top point getters, as all three won both their heat races on opening night of Southern Iowa Speed­way’s 20th annual Budweiser Great American Stock Car Shootout.Back at it for night two on Thursday will be dashes for the top eight in points and last-chance qualifi­ers for all three divisions.The Stock Car main event pays $2,000 to win while Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock mains both pay $1,000. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. and racing is at 7:30 p.m.In Wednesday’s Stock Car action, round one heats went to Derrick Agee, Damon Murty and Carter. Round two heats saw Mike Hughes, Carter and Cody Agee victorious. Top eight in points were Carter, Murty, Hughes, Daniel Hilsabeck, Cody Agee, Nathan Wood, Derrick Agee and Shane Paris.Colton Livezey and Curtis VanDerWal won round one heats in the Northern SportMods while Lo­gan Anderson and VanDerWal won round two heats. VanDerWal led the points followed by Ander­son, Jason McDaniel, Brett Lowry, Livezey, Kyle Hill, Cory Van Zante and Charlie Weber.Nick Ulin and Dustin Griffiths won round one Hobby Stock heats. Griffiths and Danny Thrasher took round two heats. With two wins it was Griffiths leading the way in points followed by Thrasher, Ulin, Craig Brown, Adam Bonnett, Dale Porter, Brandon Potts and Jamie Songer.Feature winners on Wednesday were Brandon Banks in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds and Josh Barnes in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.Stock Car Heat Results, Round 11st heat – 1. Derrick Agee, Moberly, Mo.; 2. Nathan Wood, Sigourney; 3. Mike Hughes, Os­kaloosa; 4. Shane Paris, Muscatine; 5. Jason See, Albia; 6. Caleb Crenshaw, Fort Worth, Texas; 7. Jerry Pilcher, Bloomfield; 8. Les Blakley, Fairfield; 9. Ashton Johnson, Bloomfield; 10. Michael Bilyeu, Indianola; 11. Brock Welch, Oskaloosa; 12. Ryan Fullenkamp, Bloomfield.2nd heat – 1. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 2. Daniel Hilsabeck, Adel; 3. Casey Greubel, Lacona; 4. Cody Agee, Huntsville, Mo.; 5. Daniel Gordon, Oskaloosa; 6. Robbie Merkle, Des Moines; 7. Don­nie Pearson, Oskaloosa; 8. Austin Evans, Independence; 9. Todd Phillips, Packwood; 10. Terry Clayton, Brooklyn; 11. Jay Schmidt, Tama; DQ: Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids.3rd heat – 1. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 2. Zack VanderBeek, Oskaloosa; 3. David Brandies, Wilton; 4. Todd Reitzler, Grinnell; 5. Joe Zadina, Blair, Neb.; 6. Bob Lynch, Ottumwa; 7. Doug Sylvester, Ottumwa; 8. Ron Christopher, Forney, Texas; 9. Duawyne Herb, Hiawatha; 10. Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon; 11. Steve Clair, Carlisle.Stock Car Heat Results, Round 21st heat – 1. Hughes; 2. Hilsabeck; 3. Reitzler; 4. Pinkerton; 5. Spaw; 6. Phillips; 7. Sylvester; 8. Blakley; 9. Christopher; 10. Pearson; 11. Lynch; 12. Johnson.2nd heat – 1. Carter; 2 Murty; 3. Wood; 4. Brandies; 5. Derrick Agee; 6. VanderBeek; 7. Pilcher; 8. Schmidt; 9. Merkle; 10. Crenshaw; 11. Bilyeu; 12. Clayton.3rd heat – 1. Cody Agee; 2. Paris; 3. See; 4. Greubel; 5. Zadina; 6. Gordon; 7. Evans; 8. Herb; 9. Welch; 10. Fullenkamp; 11. Clair.Northern SportMod Heat Results, Round 1 1st heat – 1. Colton Livezey, New Sharon; 2. Brett Lowry, Montezuma; 3. Kyle Hill, New London; 4. Cory Van Zante, Sully; 5. Brandon Dale, Memphis, Mo.; 6. Aaron Osweiler, South English; 7. Leroy Groenendyk, Oskaloosa; 8. Greg Strohman, Webster; 9. Trent Brink, Bussey.2nd heat – 1. Curtis VanDerWal, Oskaloosa; 2. Jason McDaniel, Eldon; 3. Logan Anderson, Os­kaloosa; 4. Brayton Carter, Oskaloosa; 5. Scott VanBuskirk; 6. Charlie Weber, Sigourney; 7. Danny Brau, Brooklyn; 8. Scott Brau, Brooklyn.Northern SportMod Heat Results, Round 2 1st heat – 1. Anderson; 2. McDaniel; 3. Van Zante; 4. Dale; 5. Osweiler; 6. Livezey; 7. VanBusKirk; 8. Carter2nd heat – 1. VanDerWal; 2. Weber; 3. Lowry; 4. Hill; 5. Groenendyk; 6. Brink; 7. Strohman; 8. Scott Brau; 9. Danny Brau.Hobby Stock Heat Results, Round 11st heat – 1. Nick Ulin, Agency; 2. Craig Brown, Eldon; 3. Jamie Songer, Ankeny; 4. Bobby Greene, Eddyville; 5. Bill Bonnett, Knoxville; 6. Kevin Fee, Knoxville; 7. August Bach, Newton; 8. Mike Kincaid, Cincinnati; 9. Travis Bunnell, Hedrick; 10. Daniel Dyer, Ottumwa.2nd heat – 1. Dustin Griffths, Ottumwa; 2. Dale Porter, Bloomfield; 3. Danny Thrasher, Agency; 4. Adam Bonnett, Martensdale; 5. Aaron Martin, Ottumwa; 6. Brandon Potts, Eldon; 7. Steve Allen, Oskaloosa; 8. Clayton Webster, Ottumwa; 9. Christian Huffman, New Sharon; 10. Ron Downing Jr., Ottumwa.Hobby Stock Heat Results, Round 21st heat – 1. Griffiths; 2. Potts; 3. Bill Bonnett; 4. Ulin; 5. Songer; 6. Porter; 7. Huffman; 8. Martin; 9. Bach; 10. Kincaid.2nd heat – 1. Thrasher; 2. Bunnell; 3. Adam Bonnett; 4. Brown; 5. Greene; 6. Allen; 7. Fee; 8. Web­ster; 9. Downing; 10. Dyer.Modified Feature1. Brandon Banks, Washington; 2. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 3. Andrew Schroeder, Keswick; 4. Tyler Groenendyk, Oskaloosa; 5. Colt Mather, Keswick; 6. Carter VanDenBerg, Oskaloosa; 7. Scott Dickey, Packwood; 8. Kyle Krampe, Baxter; 9. Jerry Pilcher, Bloomfield.Sport Compact Feature1. Josh Barnes, Keokuk; 2. Shane Evans, Iowa City; 3. John Whalen, Ainsworth; 4. Bill Whalen Jr., Riverside; 5. John Girdley, Wayland; 6. Ryan Havel, Iowa City; 7. Kevin Garrett, Bloomfield; 8. Curt Myers, Sigourney; 9. Matt Moore, Ottumwa; 10. Trent Orwig, Eldon.last_img read more