UWI Open Campus in Dominica launches new 2012 online programmes

first_img 106 Views   no discussions Online courses targeting youth development and early childhood development have been officially launched in Dominica.Dr. Francis Severin.The University of the West Indies Open Campus on Thursday officially launched the Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Development and Family Studies and the Bachelors of Science in Youth Development Work.The New 2012 online programs were launched teleconference style at the campus office on Elmshall Road.Head of the UWI Open Campus Dr. Francis Severin explained that the program targets a wide range of practitioners.“It is not just for a certain set of individuals. It is for several people. Secondary school graduates pursuing tertiary study for the first time and who wish to pursue a career in this field, individuals with certificates or associate degrees in early childhood education, social work, psychology, pediatric nursing and children and youth studies,” he said.Dr. Severin said the program is also targeting individuals with at least one years experience working in an early childhood setting, individuals with degrees in other fields who are seeking a change to career to early childhood and family studies as well as current practitioners or professionals working with very young children.“It is also targeting individuals interested in pursuing a career in relates areas of pre-school childcare, national education system, community service, social services, medicine, government , communications, business and early childhood related research,” he explained.The program is scheduled to commence in September 2012 and can be completed in a minimum of three academic years.Dominica Vibes News Sharing is caring! Tweet EducationLocalNewsTertiary UWI Open Campus in Dominica launches new 2012 online programmes by: – February 29, 2012center_img Share Share Sharelast_img read more

Fall Football

first_imgMost schools in the area will be in full swing in the next week or two with fall sports.  All of our area football teams begin this Friday night.  The EIAC should be as competitive as ever.  East Central is returning from a state championship and some think that they may be even better this year!  Lawrenceburg graduated a large senior class but their younger teams were very strong.  That should make Lawrenceburg strong this year at the varsity level.  Franklin County, under new coach Wes Gillman, has doubled their team size from last year. Even though they graduated running back Orschell, they will be under a veteran quarterback.  You can bet Wes Gillman will open his offensive playbook.The rest of the EIAC will not be slouches, either.  The Batesville Bulldogs have quarterback Trey Heidlage and should have a wide open offense.  You can bet Greensburg will have that power running game behind their usual big offensive line.  They have the ability to eat up the clock with that running game.The other 3 schools in the EIAC are still in some type of rebuilding program.  South Dearborn and Connersville should both be improved this year, and Rushville who has not been competitive the last few years, is under a new coaching system.Milan may be a bit young, but they should be a very competitive team sooner than later.  Oldenburg Academy is under a new coach in Eric Feller, and he should bring a lot of enthusiasm to the program.  Coach Stirn at North Decatur lost several of his top players, but you can bet they will be competitive also.last_img read more

Biggest AFCON Tournament Begins Tonight in Egypt

first_imgFemi SolajaWhen the Centre Referee blasts his whistle at 9:00pm Nigerian time to signal the beginning of the biggest Africa Cup of Nations in history at the Cairo International Stadium, the Pharaohs will strive to avoid the national embarrassment Egypt suffered in 1986 when they surprisingly lost 0-1 to unheralded Senegal.This time, Egypt will be facing the Warriors of Zimbabwe in the opening match. In the previous 31 editions, the hosts have often won their opening games. There are 19 of such instances while nine were drawn and five lost, including the 1986 edition by Egypt.No home nation has lost in the 13 previous curtain raisers involving the home side. The last home side to lose an opening game was Tunisia in 1994 and lost 0-2 to Mali in a tournament Nigeria’s Super Eagles won for the second time after 1980 triumph on home soil.The opening match is just one of the projected 52 matches as the competition has expanded to 24 teams instead of the 16 that characterized the preceding 12 editions in which 16 teams featured since 1996 – even though Nigeria boycotted the initial 16-format edition.The numbers of participating teams have been fluctuating. At it beginning in 1957, there were three teams, all by invitation following the disqualification of the fourth team, South Africa, owing to its prevailing apartheid policy.Qualifying series began for the 1962 edition following entries by nine countries, including Nigeria. Ethiopia and Egypt both automatically qualified as the host country and title holders respectively. Morocco would withdraw before play began, thus leaving only six teams vying for the remaining two spots in the finals.Tunisia eliminated Nigeria after an ill-advised walkout in the return leg in Tunis in which advantage was still in Nigeria’s favour.Teams in the finals increased to six at the 1963 edition in Ghana. Nigeria qualified by default after CAF disqualified the initially qualified Guinea on technical ground. Guinean referees officiated the return leg in Conakry in which the host team won 1-0 after a 2-2 draw in Lagos.The 1968 tournament, the sixth edition heralded the standardization of format. Eight teams featured in the finals and a two-year interval in the even-numbered year was adopted which ran till that of 2012.The eight-team format was changed to 12 at the Senegal 2012 edition. The 12 teams were divided into four groups of three. For the first time, quarterfinals were introduced as two top teams advanced.The format changed to 16 teams at South Africa 1996. This year’s edition is the first to involve 24 teams.They are split into six groups of four teams at the draw conducted in April. Thus, another phase, Round of 16 is introduced. Two teams from each group will advance into the Round of 16.Four others among the best third-placed teams from the six groups will join the 12 that emerged first and second from each group.The Round of 16 is a direct knock out stage.OPENING MATCHES OF PREVIOUS 31 EDITIONS· 1957 – Sudan 1-2 Egypt· 1959 – Egypt 4 – 0 Ethiopia· 1962 – Ethiopia 4 – 2 Tunisia· 1963 – Ghana 1 – 1 Tunisia· 1965 – Tunisia 4 -0 Ethiopia· 1968 – Ethiopia 2 -1 Uganda· 1970 – Sudan 3 – 0 Ethiopia· 1972 – Cameroon 2 -1 Kenya· 1974 – Egypt 2 -1 Uganda 1· 1976 – Ethiopia 2 – 0 Uganda· 1978 – Ghana 2 – 1 Zambia· 1980 – Nigeria 3-1 Tanzania· 1982 – Libya 2 -2 Ghana· 1984- Cote d’Ivoire 3 – 0 Togo· 1986 -Egypt 0 -1 Senegal· 1988 -Morocco 1 – 0 DR Congo· 1990 – Algeria 5 -1 Nigeria· 1992 – Senegal 1-2 Nigeria· 1994 – Tunisia 0 – 2 Mali· 1996 – S’Africa 3-0 Cameroon· 1998 – B’Faso 0-1 Cameroon· 2000 – Ghana 1 – 1 Cameroon· 2000 – Nigeria 4 – 2 Tunisia· 2002 – Mali 1 – 1 Liberia· 2004 – Tunisia 2 – 1 Rwanda· 2006 – Egypt 3 – 0 Libya· 2008 – Ghana 2 – 1 Guinea· 2010 – Angola 4 – 4 Mali 4· 2012 – E’Guinea 1-0 Libya· 2012 – Gabon 2 – 0 Niger· 2013 – S’Africa 0 -0 Cape Verde 0· 2015 – E’ Guinea 1 -1 Congo· 2017 – Gabon 1 -1 G’BissauShare this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegramlast_img read more